Connect with us


Victor Moses named the Footballer of the Year at the Nigerian Sports Awards



– Victor Moses beaten to sportsman of the year award at 2017 Nigeria Sports Awards ceremony

– The Chelsea wing-back however wins footballer of the year, Asisat Oshoala named women footballer of the year

– Governors Akinwunmi Ambode and Emmanuel Udon named sports governors of the year at the ceremony

– Nigerian wrestling scoops four awards including sports woman of the year award

Chelsea wing-back Victor Moses has been named the Nigerian footballer of the year at the 2017 Nigerian Sports Awards.

China-based Super Falcons star Asisat Oshoala has been named the women footballer of the year.

Victor Moses named the Footballer of the Year at the Nigerian Sports Awards

Victor Moseswas named Footballer of the Year. Photo:

The awards ceremony was held at Eko hotels in Lagos on Friday, November 17.

READ ALSO: End of rift! Conte confirms star defender will feature against West Brom after missing Man United clash

The Women basketball team D’Tigress was named team of the year after winning the women’s Afrobasket championship earlier in the year.

Victor Moses named the Footballer of the Year at the Nigerian Sports Awards

D’Tigress won the 2017 Afrobasket championship.

Check out the full list of winners below:

Sportsman of the year Aruna Quadri (table tennis player)

Sportswoman of the year: Odunayo Adekuroye (wrestler)

Footballer of the year men: Victor Moses

Footballer of the year women: Assisat Oshoala

Team of the year: D’Tigress

Special Sports Person of the year 2017: Hannah Babalola

Wrestler of the year 2017: Odunayo Adekuroye

Ball Sports Person of the Year 2017: Evelyn Akhator

Journalist of the year (Print) is Lekan Okusan

Photo Journalist of the year: Olusegun Aderinto

Journalist of the year (Radio): Tony Bekederemo

Journalist of the year (Radio): Promise Efoghe

Coach of the year 2017 is Akuh Purity (wrestling)

PAY ATTENTION: Get the latest News on News App

Sports Administrator of the year: Daniel Igali (Wrestling federation) and Wahid Enitan Oshodi (table tennis federation)

Discovery of the year: Young golfer Georgia Oboh

Special Recognition Award: Amaju Pinnick, Nigeria Football Federation president

Lifetime Achievement Award: Pa Fabio Olanipekun (veteran journalist)

Sports governor of the year: Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos state and Emmanuel Udom of Akwa Ibom

Check out the unbelievable state of the National Stadium in Surulere, Lagos on TV;


Continue Reading

Click to comment

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *